Risky Business

A few days ago, I decided to try out coding. Now to be honest, I have a little background with computer programming, but overall I’m pretty terrible at it. I’ve also decided to write a blog. And I’ve decided on a new career path, which is great for me, but probably bad for my family who has little desire for me to jump into graduate school, especially for something that may be less prestigious than what I currently have. I want to learn medical library and information science, which I find fascinating, but may not exactly be an incredibly profitable field at the moment. And I understand their concerns, and hopefully I’ll be able to manage my money well enough to not land me in a financial hole. Time will tell.

But one of the things I’ve learned in 2013 is that predicting and planning out one’s life – is not always a set possibility. I spent most of my time up unto this point doing everything that mapped out my goals between now and age 30, and within the last year, I’ve had a lot of setbacks, had some family crises, and lost people who were incredibly important to me.  It sounds obvious, but at the time I truly believe that I could set things out in advance, and that feel through in a lot of ways.

So this summer, I’m taking risks. Now most of these are non-academic risks so they may not be incredibly severe at this point in my life, but I think that I’ve left things become too  normalized, and the best way to change that is to take a risk or two. I think learning a new programming language is the scariest for me, as technology and I only have mutually ineffiencient relationship, but we’ll see if I can get to intermediate in at least one language before the end of the year. I’m using http://www.codeacademy.com as a starter, and then purchasing books that will hopefully complement the lessons that I’ve already learned. But additionally, there’s a certain charm and thrill in doing something that you don’t completely understand. And I think that thrill is what draws me to programming. As my heading says, learning doesn’t stop when you leave the classroom.

Note: If you haven’t seen it yet, check out some of the TED Education videos on TED.com. They’re incredibly fascinating.

Image

Leave a Reply

