Finding the Right Career

Hi! This is DD. To say a little bit about me, I am an artist in training. I love doodling and sketching. There was a time when I was obsessed with video games and comic books. Don’t get me wrong I still love them and read and play them every once and a while but not like when I was younger. I chose to become a graphic designer because games and anime have always been my inspiration but I didn’t have the ambition to pursue a career in animation. So my main advice out of all of this rambling would be to make sure your education and/or career is something that inspires you and something that you love. My biggest fear (I have so many) is to wake up every morning and go to bed every night in tears because I hate my job. I forget where I read this but having a job that you love is not really like having a job. I want to be excited about going to work every day.

I just started an internship with a man from my church who runs a magazine. I just finished my first project last week. I started at a stressful time because his deadline was around the same time I started. But even with the stressful time and lack of sleep I still had a lot of fun working. Although with this career I’m on my computer all the time so with some nice music in the background or a movie playing it feels more like a hobby than work. This goes for schoolwork as well but schoolwork always feels like school no matter how much fun it seems.

So, to summarize this, find something that you love to do or something that inspires you and build your life around that, in a way. I’m not saying become obsessed with something and go crazy or hate it. But just find something that will make you happy in the long run.

Leave a Reply

