The Social Media Separation

So a few days ago, I decided to deactivate my Facebook. About a month ago, I decided to get rid of my Twitter. I don’t think either of these things will be permanent, but as I’m about to graduate within the next year I wanted to run an experiment. Primarily, I wanted my sole social media outlets to end up being my blog and my LinkedIn. It’s also a little bit about figuring out the mechanics of online branding. As most of you know, branding is creating an image or construct that ends up being your main outlet for either your personal or professional life. I try to do my best to make sure that my personal and professional brands aren’t too extreme from one another, but I realized that I’m not entirely sure what I want that brand to be. So within this month, I hope I learn a few things:

How exactly does branding help your public image?

How much effort have I put into my professional image vs. my personal?

What do I need to focus on (besides the basics: blogging, personal website, social media links)?

And eventually, I hope to construct a guide on social media links and having an online presence. 

My other reason for temporary leaving social media is a bit more selfish. Sometimes being so intricately connected online takes away from the other important work that I am doing. I enjoy sharing photos, stories, and keeping up to date with my friends, but at the same time I also value my privacy. I also don’t necessarily know how I feel about the decreasing privacy barriers that happen with Facebook, Pinterest, Twitter, etc. I doubt LinkedIn is perfect, but at least the benefits (professional networking) most certainly outweigh the costs (somewhat limited access to functions, privacy costs). There are some aspects of social media that I enjoy, but I think that having a bit of privacy for a while isn’t the worst thing in the world. Hopefully I’ll come back with some tidbits of wisdom later. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

