Condolences

I’ll try to keep this post short, as for a lot of reasons, I don’t really know what to say. But I would like to express my condolences to the families of two people: Trayvon Martin and Cory Monteith, who were the victims of two very real, very persistent issues in our society.

To the family of Travyon Martin:

I wish you peace. I am sorry that you had to be an example of race relations in America. I am sorry that you had to go through your son being belittled, mocked, and devalued in the name of defending his murder. I am sorry about the media sensation, which both brought the notion of justice for your son into the limelight, but also the social media backlash which was filled with subtle and non-subtle racist remarks about your deceased child. And I hope that you are not wondering if there’s anything you could’ve done to save your child. Because I can speak from experience. Even if your son had been named ‘Jonathan/David/Isaac/Etc.’, gotten straight A’s, and had a reputation of being friendly, this still would’ve happened. No matter what, he was black, we were black, and at the end of the day, that’s what mattered in this case. He was less than, and ultimately, we are all viewed the same way. I want to thank all of the people (of all races I should add) who have expressed their condolences and I hope in some way, they have brought some comfort to the family.

Additionally, here is a petition by the NAACP to urge the Department of Judge to file a civil rights charge against Trayvon Martin. Currently the website is crashing due to traffic, but I hope that you sign it:

http://www.naacp.org/page/s/doj-civil-rights-petition

To the family of Cory Monteith:

As odd as it may sound, I am terribly, terribly upset by the loss of your son. I didn’t know much about him, but I followed a lot of his interviews and he always came across as a kind, thoughtful, person. Losing someone to addiction is terrible, and I cannot imagine what pain you all are feeling now. As odd as it sounds, Glee has followed me throughout my college years, and I’m sad to see that one of its best actors has passed. Glee was a part of my bonding with my freshman dorm-mates, my sorority in sophomore year, and in junior year, was a weekly activity with one of my best friends at Lafayette. I can’t imagine what the cast and family must be feeling, and my heart goes out to you. I hope that people will try to treat this event with a level of respect, and no make at a sensation about his drug addiction.

Leave a Reply

